Welsh Rock for Refugees

The cream of Welsh bands have donated exclusive tracks to new charity album for Syrian refugees

Welsh stars such as Manic Street Preachers, Super Furry Animals, Stereophonics, The Alarm’s Mike Peters and Cerys Matthews have come together to contribute songs to an album to raise funds for Refugee Action.



Uniting under the banner of Welsh Rock For Refugees – Reach Out is a 30-track, download-only album with all proceeds from the release being donated to the UK-based charity that helps refugees at home and abroad.

Charlotte Church, Euros Childs, Grant Nicholas and Game Of Thrones’ star Iwan Rheon have also contributed tracks to the album – many of them new songs, unreleased or rarities.

To purchase Reach Out – Welsh Rock For Refugees visit:


The album has been put together by WalesOnline journalist and music writer David Owens, who said it was the harrowing pictures of drowned children washed up on a Turkish beach that prompted him to act.

“I was one of those who shed tears at the harrowing images,” he said. “As a father it broke my heart. I wanted to do something but like many of us felt utterly powerless.”

“What has resulted has exceeded all expectations,” he said.

“In the space of a week the Welsh music community has stood together as one. It’s been a labour of love and this album would never have come together if it wasn’t for those who went out of their way to ensure this collection of songs became a reality in less than seven days.”

He added: “I can only thank all the artists who agreed to donate tracks. There are unreleased remixes from Gruff Rhys and Manic Street Preachers, new songs from The Joy Formidable and Charlotte Church, as well as rarities from Mike Peters, Euros Childs, Gwenno and Sterephonics – as well as many more gems from some of the finest musicians from Wales.

“I’ve been truly astounded and humbled by the response. I hope people will support the album and we can help provide comfort and security for those who have none.”

The album features Welsh musician Amy Wadge’s original version of Thinking Out Loud – the global hit she co-wrote with superstar Ed Sheeran.

Manic Street Preachers’ Nicky Wire said: “It’s a real honour to be able to give this previously unreleased piece of music to such a worthy cause and for it to sit alongside so many brilliant Welsh artists.”

Refugee Action CEO Stephen Hale said: “This is an incredible initiative at an incredible time. Thank you so much to David and all the artists who have stepped up to support refugees and donated a track.

“These funds will enable us to support and speak out for refugees and asylum seekers here in the UK, helping them to rebuild their lives after fleeing from war and persecution.”

To purchase Reach Out – Welsh Rock For Refugees visit:


Find out more about the work of Refugee Action at: www.refugee-action.org.uk

The full Reach Out tracklist

1. Frisbee – Super Furry Animals

2. New Loafers – 60ft Dolls

3. Roll On Up – Houdini Dax

4. You Taught Me – The Joy Formidable

5. Thinking Out Loud – Amy Wadge

6. 5c Cotton 40c Beef – Cian Ciaran

7. Graves – Climbing Trees

8. Devastation – Pale Blue Dots

9. The Surgeon – Euros Childs

10. Sbia ar y Seren – Georgia Ruth

11. Lines & Angles – Ellie Makes Music

12. Vast – Gulp

13. Chwyldro (R.Seiliog remix) – Gwenno

14. You’re My Star (Live) – Stereophonics

15. Miller (Live at The Gate) – Zervas & Pepper

16. Caer O Feddyliau – Kizzy Crawford

17. Refugees In The West World – Mike Peters

18. Box – Charlotte Church

19. Hippos – Cerys Matthews

20. Lost Tribes (Tomas Barford Remix) – Gruff Rhys

21. Alcohol Kiss – Trampolene

22. Goldrush (Acoustic) – Paper Aeroplanes

23. Guillotine (featuring Lillian Todd) – Sion Russell Jones

24. Rhodd – Iwan Rheon and Aled Rheon

25. Safe In Place – Grant Nicholas

26. Liberty Rd – The Earth

27. No Borders – Zefur Wolves

28. Redesign – Jayce Lewis and Gary Numan

29. Molly (Acoustic) – The People The Poet

30. William’s Last Words (Underworld mix r37br11) – Manic Street Preachers